Lead Coordinators

The symposium is co-organized on behalf of the Global Network of Internet & Society Centers (NoC) by the Institute for Technology and Society of Rio de Janeiro (ITS Rio) and the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University, in collaboration with the Museum of Tomorrow.

Advisory Committee

We have built a small and informal advisory committee with significant representation from Asia, Latin America, and Africa for the event to identify partners in these regions to participate in and to drive these conversations. The advisory committee has offered feedback on symposium themes and topics, advised on format and engaging diverse audiences, suggested inputs and outputs, and will participate in the symposium.

  1. Chinmayi Arun, Center for Communication Governance, National Law University Delhi 
  2. Demba Ba, School of Engineering and Applied Science, Harvard University
  3. Juan Carlos De Martin, Nexa Center
  4. Danit Gal, Peking University and Tsinghua University
  5. Alison Gillwald, Research ICT Africa
  6. John Havens, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
  7. Malavika Jayaram, Digital Asia Hub
  8. Vicki Nash, Oxford Internet Institute
  9. Luiz Alberto Oliveira, Museum of Tomorrow
  10. Mimi Onuoha, Eyebeam; Interactive Telecommunications Program, New York University
  11. Nagla Rizk, Access to Knowledge for Development Center
  12. Marcela Sabino, Museum of Tomorrow
  13. Julian Thomas, Social Change Research Platform; Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology


The symposium is supported by the Ethics and Governance of Artificial Intelligence Fund and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC). The Open Society Foundation contributed to travel stipends including Global South participants, and the Museum of Tomorrow serves as a venue sponsor.